Jumping From the High Dive

I never really learned how to swim. I’ve always known how. But, see, I have this fear of hieghts thing going on. I can jump from a regular old diving board (don’t ask me to actually dive from it, unless you want to see a painful belly flop). The one time I tried to jump from a high dive, it was all I could do to walk back to the ladder instead of crawling on my hands and knees.

For those who know me, you know that I don’t get all that excited about swimming anymore. So why am I bothering to talk about this in my first ever blog post?

The answer: because this is my first ever blog post.

This blog is my high dive. But after reading a few posts from Kristen Lamb on http://warriorwriters.wordpress.com/, I realize that I should probably make this jump.

I’m as comfortable with writing as I am with swimming (though I’d rather write than swim). It’s second nature. Publishing this first book, Harp Lessons, has been like jumping from that low diving board. It was a bit intimidating, but exciting and fun!

Chatting with all the other phenominal authors from Astraea Press has been interesting. But I’ve mostly been the quiet observer. They all post links to their latest blog posts, blog tours, and all other social media connections they have. I only joined facebook less than two years ago because my little sister was having a baby and I wanted all the updates. Since joining Twitter last July, I’ve tweeted a grand total of three times.

Blogging to me is a whole other beast. But I hope to tame it and improve my writing while doing so. And who knows? The next time I go swimming and there is a high dive, I’ll go ahead and jump anyway.

Thank you Kristen Lamb for encouraging me to jump and I hope to soon read your book, We Are Not Alone.

I know that the metaphor of a high dive is probably way over used, “Taking the plunge” and all. But there aren’t any other irrational fears that I’ve had in my life. Well… except for the few years I spent terrified of people being able to hear me pee. But that didn’t quite fit as nicely…

14 Comments

Filed under Writing

14 responses to “Jumping From the High Dive

  1. Congrats on your first post. I took a class with Kristen in 2011 and it was awesome. She knows how to push just enough to get you where you need to be. It gets easier. It just takes practice, like anything else.

  2. Welcome to the world of blogging. When you visit blogs of other authors, you’ll get more ideas which you may want to adapt, as you go along.
    For now, I think this is a great start. Nice clean look. No clutter and no fancy fonts or colors that make things difficult to read.
    Summary: success.

    • Thanks Jeff! Hopefully I won’t get carried away as I go along and end up making it too cluttered! 😀 I’m primarily concerned at the moment with coming up with ideas to blog about. I’ve a few in mind, but after that… can you hear me screaming on my way to the water? lol

      • When I ‘jumped in’ to REGULAR blogging — as opposed to being a guest here and there — just about 2 yrs ago, I worried that I wouldn’t have much to say. Ha.
        Turns out I’m hard to shut up!

  3. Every author you mentioned as blogging about this or that started with a first blog, and probably felt much the same as you! 🙂 Jeff is right. Simplicity focusses your visitors’ attention on your content and that will grow with you. Best wishes with this new venture of yours.

  4. Welcome to the wonderful world of blogging.

  5. Welcome to the blogging world! You’ll love it… you’ll hate it… you won’t know what you did without it 🙂

  6. Congratulations on your first blog! I’ll certainly be back to read your next and all other posts as well!
    I know how you felt writing it, AND more importantly publishing it – I feel like that every time, but it’s kinda fun 🙂

    • Thanks Iris! 😀 Because a high dive is supposed to be fun, right? 😉 I just have to remember to keep telling myself that, “this will be fun, this will be fun!” lol

  7. Thanks for the giveaway on AP

Leave a Reply

