What’s the Story Behind That Song?

For those who don’t know, my work in progress is a yet untitled work that is, what I hope to be, a nice blending of Sci-fi/romance with Irish history and mythology. For inspiration, I’ve copied some of my Irish music to my flashdrive so that I can listen to it in the car. Little did I know just how inspiring it would be to do so.

Who, but perhaps the Irish, knew that “A Nation Once Again” and “Brian Boru’s March” would rank right up there with Veggie Tales’ “Silly Songs with Larry”? Please don’t misunderstand. I’m not belittling Irish music in any way. I could listen to Irish tunes with as much delight and relish as when I listen to Rachmaninoff and Vivaldi (in other words: all day). But when my boys, ages 2 and 4, request to hear “A Nation Once Again” over and over…and over, there’s got to be something awesome about the music.

The best part…my oldest, William, keeps asking me to tell him the story behind “A Nation Once Again,” or “Brian Boru’s March.” Of course, I have to keep it as simple and engaging for a 4-year-old as possible. But I love that he is so interested.

I hope he stays interested. I hope that one day he’ll read the book I’m writing right now and say, “Okay, yeah, I know that the time travel thing could never happen, but did that Turlough O’Carolan guy really exist? I wonder if I could look that up…”

Is it wishful thinking to hope that he one day thinks, “It’s so cool that my mom wrote a story around the songs of O’Carolan?” Until he’s old enough for that, I’m appreciating hearing his little brother, Charlie, belt out the refrain of “A Nation Once Again” even when I forget to bring the flashdrive to the car.

3 Comments

Filed under Writing

3 responses to “What’s the Story Behind That Song?

  1. The learning process at work! I should have added these to my post, but here are links to both songs by the performers we listen to in the car. 😀

  2. Thanks for following my blog Shea! I hope I write interesting posts for you!

Leave a Reply

