Just Gotta Laugh

Image attributed to Nemoi

I’ve had writer’s block before, but this is a new one.

I’m stuck. Not because I don’t know where my story is going, but because I don’t have the experience necessary for the next scene. What on earth was the Kells abbey like in 1715? I want to be descriptive but anytime I run a search on it, I come up empty. The Book of Kells dwarfs all other information. lol

On the other hand, when I try to get in contact with tour guides and other family members from over there, I get terrific fuel. I get awesome little “tidbits” that I can add to my story to give it a little more Irish sparkle.

But the one tidbit that I really want…

I know. I’m writing fiction, but I want to pull as much real stuff into it as I can. So how can I get in touch with an expert?

I got to see the Book of Kells when I was in Dublin, but I never got to visit the town of Kells itself. I don’t think that would have made much difference anyway, because from what I can tell, the current church structure was rebuilt in 1778. I can’t even seem to find a layout. *sigh*

What are some strange ways you’ve gotten writers block? How did you overcome it?

Glutened Goal Update: I think I’m finally over the glutening. It’s been difficult to tell because of persistant low fever and sore throats which haven’t responded to antibiotics (and have nothing to do with gluten). But, regardless, I’m feeling much better and am ready to get back into my WIP with the exception of what’s been explained in the above post. 😉

2 Comments

Filed under Writing

2 responses to “Just Gotta Laugh

  1. Have you read Ireland: A Novel (by Frank Delaney)? I think the Kells abbey is described in that and if it’s not exactly described, it’s a great read that’s filled with legends and stories from Ireland.

Leave a Reply

