Fly Like An Eagle

The Hampton Court Clock. Very cool looking, but seriously outdated. Note the SUN revolving around the EARTH? Image attributed to Mike Cattell via Wikimedia Commons.

I’ve always liked the Hampton Court clock. First of all, because I was fortunate enough to see it in person during an excellent tour of the palace, courtesy of one of my Cambridge professors. Secondly, because it gives me the impression that there are more hours in the day. All 24 hours are represented, giving me the proof illusion that I have plenty of time to complete my projects and squeeze in some ‘me’ time.

Maybe I torture myself.

A few weeks ago, I started to realize that my postings were quite irregular, and many times I just couldn’t come up with anything to write about making that my excuse for not posting at all. So I set a goal that I’d post something, anything on Monday mornings. Last week, I got my post ready days in advance and relished that I was able to tweak it here and there to make it better before Monday. But it is Monday morning as I type this one… *sigh*

The lyrics to that Steve Miller song keeps running through my head – Time keeps on slippin’, slippin’, slippin’, into the future.

A big chunk of my time is devoted to my boys. Other spaces are filled with housework, researching the next inspiration for my book, getting the inspiration written, and now I’ve added harp practice to the blend. But this last gave me a nice idea for the subject of another post when I have more time to devote to it. 😀  So yeah, I’m just going to get back to the illusion of more time via Hampton Court’s clock...

How does time, or the lack thereof, frazzle affect you?

2 Comments

Filed under Writing

2 responses to “Fly Like An Eagle

  1. Nice post. I’m always complaining that I don’t have enough time to do the things I want/need to do. My hubby’s answer to that is “Don’t try to do so much!” Sometimes he’s right. I have the time to do the things that MUST be done, And then I have to prioritize the rest.

Leave a Reply

