Rewiring Our Brains

Image via Wikimedia Commons

When I was a kid, I used to come up with stories all the time. I had a rather wild imagination and didn’t really care if what I came up with was plausible at all. One of my favorite stories was called “The Blabbaca.” A blabbaca is a creature that was made up of different parts of other animals; it could have the neck of a flamingo, an arm of a squirrel, the other arm could be of a bear, the nose of a goat,… well, you get the idea. No two blabbaca’s had the same mixture of body parts, they could talk and,…wait for it…play baseball. Hahaha!

So if I got Fly Like An Eagle stuck in your head a few weeks ago, then I’ll get The Logical Song by Supertramp in there today.

That’s what happens when you step into my world. You’ll eventually be invaded by song lyrics.

Being a romance, Harp Lessons is much more realistic than “The Blabbaca.” It’s patterned after my family. As my sis said, “It oozes Shea.” It was what was on my heart at the time. But I’ve no more ideas for another romance.

My WIP is more like when I was a kid. It’s an adventure story based in real events but blends them with the wonderful Irish mythologies that have so captivated me. I’ll always have a special place in my heart for Harp Lessons, but honestly, I’m having so much more fun writing this “crazy” adventure.

“When I was young, it seemed that life was so wonderful, a miracle, it was beautiful, magical…”

Maybe it’s because I’m now a mom, but I’m getting more in touch with that imaginative child that I once was. However, I’m also utilizing the more grown up tools that I’ve acquired in my life. I’ve simply had to rewire my brain to combine them both. I’m just glad that I haven’t lost that whimsical spirit.

The last thing I want to do is to sour into a curmudgeon. 😉

What are some fun things that you’ve carried over from your childhood? Are there traits that you’ve lost and want to get back?

2 Comments

Filed under Writing

2 responses to “Rewiring Our Brains

  1. Spring

    I have always loved “The Logical Song” from Roger Hodgson, co-founder of Supertramp. The lyrics are timeless and so very relevant. Here is Roger performing his classic – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MDiuQCz46dw. Roger gave us the band’s greatest hits to include not only The Logical Song, but also Breakfast in America, Give a Little Bit, Dreamer, Take the Long Way Home, and so many more! A bit of trivia – many people are not aware that although Roger and Supertramp’s other co-founder shared writing credit, they actually wrote and composed separately with each singing their own respective songs.

    I was very blessed to see Roger in concert earlier this year and cannot wait to see him again this summer. You’ve got to get yourself to one of Roger’s shows. There is nothing like it. He performs each and every song with a freshness as if it’s the first concert of the tour and that voice of his is remarkable – sounds even better today than on my Supertramp vinyls. I saw all of Roger’s tour details on Events on his FB page at https://www.facebook.com/RogerHodgson. See you this summer!

    • Thanks for the fun info! Loved Take the Long Way Home too. 😀 I don’t get to concerts too often, especially now with kids, but I would like to try for that one day. 😀

Leave a Reply

