First Draft – Check

Yeah, probably won't be in the book, but it feels nostalgic to write it anyway.

Yeah, probably won’t be in the book, but it feels nostalgic to write it anyway.

Last Tuesday, I wrote two bitter-sweet words. The End. I’ve finished the first draft of The Stone of Kings.

On one hand, I’m super excited to be on track to get all the edits done and having people read it. The audience for Harp Lessons was my family. But the audience for The Stone of Kings are the people who enjoy series like Harry Potter or The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel. I can’t wait to share it when all the polishing is finished. 😀 Here is the blurb that I have for it so far:

Twelve year old Ardan is hopelessly distracted because he wants to meet a real faerie. But when he gets his hands on a mysterious red book loaded with faerie spells and accidentally sends himself three hundred years into Ireland’s future, he soon learns that there are more important things on which to focus his attention. Throw in some immortal druids, fun storytelling, a touch of forbidden romance, along with the music and antics of the legendary Irish harper, Turlough O’Carolan, and you’ll become swept up in a very real Irish mythological adventure.

So now for the bitter part. The excitement of writing an adventure story is over. Yeah I’ve got other ideas for more books. But this one is finished. It’s strange how as a writer you come to care about your characters as if they were real people. When I wrote ‘the end,’ it was as if I was writing ‘goodbye’ to them. Now I’ll be sending them off into the world to be edited, critiqued, and eventually appreciated post-publication. I hope my audience enjoys reading about them as much as I enjoyed writing about them.

If you are a writer, do you feel the same way getting to the end of a book?

7 Comments

Filed under Books I Love, Writing

7 responses to “First Draft – Check

  1. You never say goodbye, just see you later. 🙂

  2. Congratulations! “The End” are the sweetest two words in the English language, for sure.

    Unsolicited advice of the day: Never subject your editor or your readers to a first draft. All first drafts are considered tools for enhanced interrogation at Guantanamo. Put your first draft in a drawer and don’t think about it or look at it for a minimum of two weeks. Then take it out and start reading it. You will see many problems for yourself if, as you read, you ask yourself, “How does this contribute to the story? Does it move the plot, or is it just something I love?” Rewrite your draft with the understanding that there is no great writing, there is only great rewriting. And don’t worry, you aren’t saying goodbye to your characters. You’re just beginning your relationship, as you will go through this manuscript at least 5 – 8 times between now and publishing, but your final product will be worth it.

    Good luck and, again, congratulations! Most people never get this far. *pats your back*

    • Thanks Piper! 😀 Yes, I’m definitely doing lots of self edits before it gets submitted to my publisher. My mom is the only person who has had a full copy. She’s been reading as I’ve been writing. She’s a fantastic person for bouncing off ideas when I’m stuck. Fortunately, I have a vacation coming up this week so I won’t be looking at it the whole time. Then I’ll be ready to hit the edits when we get back. 😀

  3. AWESOME Shea!
    You’re right about The End being bitter sweet. 🙂
    Great advice, Piper!

Leave a Reply

