5 Things I Learned From My First Kindergardener’s First Week of School – Friday Fun!

It's 6 am! Does school start at 6 am?

It’s 6 am! Does school start at 6 am?

1. Just because you can walk to school, doesn’t always mean you should.

Florida is HOT. I want to walk with him during the cooler months since we live so close, but for now, taking the car up the block feels neccessary. Even then, the heat negates the shower I had 3 hours before. Too bad I’m not allowed to switch off from being a car parent to a walking parent depending on the weather.

2. He won’t have a play-by-play when the day is over.

I was spoiled with preschool. It was only 3 hours a day, and I got to talk to the teacher as I picked him up. I hardly see his teacher now, because she’s busy doing her job (which I can appreciate, having done it myself). But I’m not going to set up a parent-teacher conference after the first week just to find out what all the smiley faces actually mean in the planner he brings home everyday. Anytime I ask William, “What did you do today?” He grins and says,ย “We justย had a lot of fun!”

3. It still makes me sad that he doesn’t cry when I leave.

William is a very friendly and social kid. I’ve never had any trouble dropping him off anywhere even when he was a baby. I watch the other kids sometimes throw fits when their parent’s leave, but William’s never done that. I know he loves me. But part of me wishes that he would cry, at least on his second day. This is the most time he’s spent away from me in one week, except when he spent a few days with family in Colorado. At least on the second day he stopped to give me a hug before I left. And he’s always thrilled to see me during pick-up time.

4. I can actually get errands done!

William by himself is easy. Charlie by himself is easy. But when the two of them get together, they tend to run in different directions when we’re out and about and I’d like to split myself in two. This week I actually got to go to the grocery store when the sun was shining instead of showing up by myselfย 30 minutes before they close.

5. Don’t procrastinate making lunch.

Seriously. It will make you run late. Then you will rush up to the school making the point from #1 worse. Also, 3 and 5 year olds don’t comprehend what it means to be late. You will end up carrying at least one of them.

Have your kids started school yet this year? How did it go?

10 Comments

Filed under Friday Fun

10 responses to “5 Things I Learned From My First Kindergardener’s First Week of School – Friday Fun!

  1. christicorbett

    LOVE HIS SHIRT!!!

    Also, try making the lunch the night before and have it sitting in the fridge, ready to grab on your way out the door. I do this with my twins and it saves a bunch of hassle and rushing in the mornings ๐Ÿ™‚

    Christi Corbett

    • Thanks Christie! ๐Ÿ˜€ I’ll probably do that when this current “glutening” is over. Mornings are when I feel my best. By evening, I’m curled up in a painful ball on the couch. lol

  2. Why can’t you switch off from being a car parent to a walking parent as the weather shifts?

    • The walking kids are released from a different location than the car riders. I’ve already designated him to be a walker, so I think it would take a phone call every morning and evening to change it because of the weather. I’ll probably look into it better next week, but for now, it seems I’m stuck. lol

  3. My baby is in high school. I drove her this morning for her first day. Twenty years from now, I will jump at the chance to drive her just to enjoy her company.

    I remember my son’s first day of kindergarten. He was nervous. I left him with trepidation, telling myself he would be fine. When I went to pick him up, he was sitting in the hall. When he saw me he yelled, “I hate this place! These teachers are mean, mean, mean, and I’m never coming back again!” It wasn’t a good year. Even now as a senior, he dislikes high school so much that we let him move on to college. He finally loves school.

    What a precious young man you have there. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. William, you look too cool in your picture. I hope you enjoy kindergarten this year. Granny and Aunt Nancy love you very much.

    Shea , hang in there as I’m sure it will get better as time goes by. Give the boys a hug and kiss from us. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. hey! Thanks for stopping by and sharing about your blog post. My boy wasn’t too happy when I dropped him or when I picked him up. But I think once he gets used to the routine he will love it. (I hope!) but this is the energizer bunny on steroids with a blow horn. ha!

    I am looking forward to errands! I can handle my 2 year old, but like you, with my 4 and 2 together, insanity! ha! And I’m looking forward to the one on one I will have with her. Just the few hours we had this morning was so quiet as she read books, played around.

    Adjusting to the new routine is going to take awhile. So I should probably lay low for a couple of weeks. ha!

Leave a Reply

