5 Types of Smiles I Never Knew Could Charm Me – Friday Fun

 

They've cast a spell on me!

They’ve cast a spell on me!

William’s first smile.

A couple of weeks after William was born, I was exhausted and frustrated that I had to pump milk and wash bottles because he stubbornly refused to latch. Then he smiled during a nap and melted all those troubles away. It doesn’t matter to me what people think causes babies to smile at that age. When he smiled like that, he ‘told’ me, “She still loves me anyway.”

The sleepy wake up huggy smile.

Nothing is better than a good night’s sleep, especially for kids. As grumpy as we all are at bedtime, no one seems to remember the frustrations of the night before by morning. Fortunately, we’ve been blessed with kids who have generally done a good job sleeping through the night and they’ve inherited my good morning temperament. It’s nice to start every day with smiles.

“Yep, I didn’t sleep for nap time, but I know you like my smile.”

“Why didn’t you sleep, Charlie?” I ask after nap time which had been transformed into quiet time instead.

“I wanted to take my blanket downstairs,” Charlie answers.

I usually sigh because his lack of sleep usually means a rougher time getting to bed at night. But then he grins showing me all his little white teeth and every time he does that, it make me think, “Well, maybe this time it won’t be so bad…”

“I know I’m in trouble, but if I smile, maybe it won’t be so bad.”

I’ve probably told Charlie one too many times how cute he is. So when he does something he knows he’s not supposed to do, I really have to concentrate on keeping a stern look before putting him in time out. I think he feels that if he gives me that winning smile, he’ll escape punishment. It hasn’t worked yet, and I wish he’d give up, because it’s so hard not to smile back at him.

Mommy overslept and looks like death warmed over, but who cares? She’s Mommy!

If I want a shower, I have to be the first up in the morning so that I can take one before hubby heads to work. I usually use my cell phone alarm, but my new phone was misbehaving and I’d over-sleep every few days. By the time I would wake up, William was already climbing into our bed to give me my morning hug. “You look like a princess, Mommy!”

What are some of the awesomely funny/sweet things your kids say and do?

2 Comments

Filed under Friday Fun

2 responses to “5 Types of Smiles I Never Knew Could Charm Me – Friday Fun

  1. Little boys are so cute aren’t they? Mine are a little older than yours, but the things they say and they’re cute little smiles really do melt your heart. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

