Those Pesky Details

Well, the details feel more like annoying needles, but still… Image via Wikimedia Commons

Well, it’s sent. The Stone of Kings is awaiting appraisal from Astraea Press. I got as much self-editing done as I could, but I’m sure there’ll be plenty that I’ve missed. I’ve also got a wonderful cousin in Ireland who is currently critiquing it for me. I’m hoping he can catch all the cultural nuances that I missed or wasn’t able to find while researching on the internet.

The one little detail that really bothers me is what happened to the Irish Sword of Light? According to Wikipedia, the legends claim that whoever wielded it was generally undefeated, but I can’t figure out whatever happened to it in the stories.

I feel like Harry Potter trying to find out what happened to the elder wand.

I found a site full of celtic tales. One titled, “The Sword of Light and the Unique Tale With as Much of the Adventures of Gilly of the Goatskin as is Given in ‘The Craneskin Book.’

Whew! What a long title! But it’s about the Sword of Light, so maybe I’ll get somewhere.

So I start to read. And read. And read.

Well, the Sword of Light is in the tale, but it’s been blackened. In order to get someone to brighten it again, the king’s son has to go on a quest. But to complete the quest, he has to go on another quest, where he meets someone else who is on another quest…and…

Yeah, as much as I’m enjoying the Irish tale, I don’t really have time at the moment to read all of that. So while trying to find any kind of summary, I stumbled upon this scholarly looking page, which pretty much boils down the Sword of Light to be a metaphor for the truth.

Metaphors are great, and I happen to very much like the idea of the Sword being a metaphor for truth, but my plot won’t work with a metaphor. My character needs a tangible mythological sword.

Right now, my plot stands with the sword having been lost at sea during a storm 700 years earlier. That’s probably feasible. But I’d like to stay as true to the myths as I can. So I guess I’ll try to keep reading as much as I can of that very long tale.

Are you familiar with the stories of the Irish Sword of Light? Do little details irritate you when the author doesn’t quite get it right?

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a Reply

