Wednesday Welcomes – Iris Blobel!

Today I have the pleasure of  introducing a wonderful author who I would love to sit down with and have a chat over a nice pot of tea. Unfortunately, she lives a half a world away. But I’m sure hubby would be happy to vacation in Australia sometime. 😉 She is here to talk about my favorite place of dreams and to tell you all about her latest release, New Beginnings (which I can’t wait to read). Take it away, irresistible Iris! 😉

The land of dreamers …

It’s an absolute delight to be Shea’s guest today.

Shea and I share the same love for that special emerald country in Europe – Ireland!

My first two books were set in Ireland. The main character in “Sweet Dreams, Miss England” was Daniel from Dublin. Nicky (the female protagonist) and Daniel spend quite a bit of time in Ireland and it was a pleasure to write a couple of chapters about them travelling to Limerick and then to the south coast.

When I started my second book “Journey to Her Dreams” I had a vague idea about the plot, a vague idea about how important the dreams were supposed to be, but needed a place to set the story. The story’s main plot was based on dreams – and where better to set a “dream story” than in Ireland, the land of magic, fairies, leprechauns and rainbows. Perfect!

I visited Dublin three years ago and it was wonderful to add my experiences into the story and see it come alive. I was very lucky and fortunate that Astraea Press took the risk to publish it. The feedback has been very rewarding.

There are many other things I like about Ireland – of course the beautiful and unique countryside, the Irish accent, their humour, their music and bands (especially Westlife), their pride and so many other things. I’m sure if you’re a lover (even just a small one) of Ireland you know what I’m talking about.

Anyhow … Yes, I am here to talk a bit about my latest release New Beginnings. My latest book’s set in Tasmania, which is not Ireland, and I wouldn’t necessarily compare the two islands, but it has the same mystique and charm to it. The perfect setting for my story which includes a wee bit of a mystery in it.

New Beginnings is the first in the “Beginnings” trilogy, as we follow the lives of Sophie and Mia Levesque as they start over in Hobart, the capital of Tasmania, Mark O’Connor, Zach and Jared. I hope you will have a chance to get to know them all!

New Beginnings:

Tagline:

To believe in new beginnings is to trust in tomorrow

Blurb:

Twenty-two-year-old Sophie Levesque has been guardian to eight-year-old sister Mia since their mother’s death a few years ago. Luck comes their way when they inherit a small house in Hobart. Problem is, though, they don’t know or have even heard of Clara Bellinger, the testator, and Sophie is afraid it’s all been a mistake.
As Mia settles well into her new school and life in general, Sophie is not only occupied by her search of what connected her to Clara, but also her new studies and the two men, who suddenly have become part of her daily life – Mark O’Connor, the lawyer representing Clara’s estate, and Zach, the hunk from across the road.

Links:

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/New-Beginings-ebook/dp/B00ENU02BU/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1377251351&sr=1-1

Astraea Press: http://astraeapress.com/#!/~/product/category=662245&id=27261175

Smashwords: http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/349320

Bookstrand: http://www.bookstrand.com/new-beginnings-6

Bio:

Iris Blobel was born and raised in Germany and only immigrated to Australia in the late 1990s. Having had the travel bug most of her life, Iris spent quite some time living in Scotland, London as well as Canada where she actually had met her future husband. Her love for putting her stories onto paper has only recently emerged, but now her laptop is a constant companion. Iris resides west of Melbourne with her husband and her beautiful two daughters as well as her two dogs. Next to her job at a private school she also presents a German Program at the local Community Radio.

2 Comments

Filed under Guest Posts

2 responses to “Wednesday Welcomes – Iris Blobel!

  1. Thank you so much for having me on your blog today, Shea … AND I would love to welcome you to Australia one day … I provide the tea for a long chat about Ireland and a nice bbq for the men 😉

Leave a Reply

