In Preparation…

This is how fast I WANT to write. I hope it picks up in November anyway. Image attributed to Yann (talk) via Wikimedia Commons.

I missed Friday Fun. But there are times in life when we have to forgo the things that are fun for the things that we need. My Friday Facebook status should sum things up:

“That moment when you’ve had such a needed nap, that you wake up wondering where your watch is. Then you spend 5 minutes stumbling around the house looking for it only to realize that you haven’t worn a watch for over 7 years. โ€” feeling sleepy.”

Despite the fact that I missed Friday, I’ve been busy blogging away. I’m halfway through all my posts for The Write Shadow’s NaNoWriMo pre-game blogging contest. While it’s much easier writing for an assigned topic, the challenge is still in making my words to that topic fun and interesting. Especially when I feel like one of my kid’s toys when the battery has run down.

“Pat-ty. Cake. Pat-ty. Cake. Bak-er’s. Man.”

I’ll get to your cake when I get to it. I don’t care how fast you need it.

Ooooh, I hope I survive November. I figured out that I have to write about three hours a day to hit 50,000 words by the end of the month. Obviously, I’ll have to double up because there are going to be days where I can’t write at all, namely Thanksgiving. But I’ll cross that bridge when I get there.

What I’m struggling to decide now is whetherย to make my story a political conspiracy or a ghost story. I might be able to blend the two together. I never thought of doing a ghost story before, but Kevin Lucia had a convincing series of posts as a guest on Kristen Lamb’s blog. He wrote about the horror genre and what made good horror and how it’s not always just blood and guts.

Being a pantser, I still have no idea what I’m going to decide. But I suppose that’s the purpose of NaNoWriMo. To write so fast that your subconscious takes over and makes the decision for you. At least, I hope it works that way.

Are you getting ready for a busy event? How do you prepare?

5 Comments

Filed under NaNoWriMo, Writing

5 responses to “In Preparation…

  1. Go for a Ghost story! That’s what I’m doing. I’ve been writing a series of short stories ghost story, but I’m going to go for a full length novel! I’ve been brain-storming with another writer. I have a beginning idea, main crisis and ending, so now I’m thinking subplots, so come November I can start writing. Is it cheating to write notes or do an outline? I’ve never done NaNoWriMo before. So far it’s just brain-storming. Thanks.

    • I’m leaning in the direction of a ghost story Tam ๐Ÿ™‚ just trying to figure out how it’s going to work. This is my first year for NaNoWriMo too. From what I understand, you can write notes, outline, create character backgrounds, etc. You just can’t have written any of the actual prose part of your manuscript until Nov 1. Good luck! ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Don’t most political stories end up being ghost stories once people seem to get close to unraveling the truth? It’s amazing how quickly leads vanish into thin air and people who once were no longer are.

    By the way, I’m about to write myself into an early grave, too. LOL. I’m trying to finish up the book I started at the beginning of this month, so I can focus on my fiction novel during next month, all while finishing client orders, and attempting to keep my own blog’s head above the water. The craziest part is that I feel like the walking dead, but I’m enjoying myself! Maybe I should have myself committed… admitted… Hmm… now I need to check out the proper usage of those two words.

    Oh, and if your little kiddos are getting as annoyed with you as my daughter is me, feel free to tell them they can blame me for part of this madness. Hehe.

    • lol Jessica! Yes, finding truth in a conspiracy is like hunting for an elusive ghost. Hmm, I may use that… ๐Ÿ™‚

      You need a night off! At least take one break before November. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’m just thinking of all the blogs you’ll have to read, and then a whole unedited manuscript shortly after! Make sure you breathe.

      My hubby is more likely to get annoyed with the madness than the boys. But that’s typical. lol He’s just going to have to deal with it.

      • Well, it sounds like I might get a break today, because my niece seems to want an early arrival date. She’d only be a week early, though, so the due date may have just been off a bit. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

