#1 What Does Blogging Mean To You?

Image via Wikimedia with special thanks to the United States Marine Corps

I’ve subscribed to Kristen Lamb’s “WANA way” on blogging. And as a bonus, doing it this way forces me to try to channel some of her humor. For example, when I started writing on this topic, I had a dry list of why I blog.

Pathetic. *Highlight, delete*

Blogging pushes me like a boxing coach. Blogging is the nagging thoughts in the back of my mind everyday, “What are you going to write about this week? Huh? It’s gonna be dull, isn’t it. Just scribble away at your novels. Go on, be mediocre!”

To be honest, I don’t really care much for blogging. You know why? Cause it’s hard for me. Face it- no characters, no story, just topics. Who on earth cares what I have to say on topics?

But you know what? It my job as a writer to learn how to make them care. If I can start to grab a reader’s attention in a blog, I’ll be able to crank out the page turners. I know that if I want to be successful I gotta do the hard stuff. Will I get it every time? No. But I’ll keep trying till I do. Then I’ll keep trying some more.

“Get to work you lazy deadbeat! Come on, you’ve got a deadline!”

“Yeah, coach, I’m just finishing up this round of Candy Crush-”

“Candy what? That blog’s not gonna write itself. Now, get on it!”

“Yes, coach.”

Writing is a lonely business. Just you and your pen and paper. But it’s too easy to slip into thinking about your story and forgetting to actually write it down. I’m always looking for “down time” which is an excuse not to write. Down time is great, but as a writer, I find that blogging helps me to realize that I don’t need as much down time as I thought I did. I write because I enjoy it, after all!

[This post was written as a part of the NaNoWriMo Pre-game Kick Off over at Jessica Schmeidler’s blog.]

No word count for NaNo just yet due to lack of sleep. 🙂

3 Comments

Filed under Blogging Contest, NaNoWriMo, Writing

3 responses to “#1 What Does Blogging Mean To You?

  1. Due to sleep? Oh, you lucky girl! We took the calves off their mommies, so I’ve been up all night from their mooing. They need pacifiers for cattle.

    • Ha! There are 2 goats in the opening chapter of my NaNo book and my character uses the description for them: “…like putting unruly toddlers to bed.” lol I hope the calves don’t keep you up too much this month!

Leave a Reply

