#4 Tickety-Type, Scratch, or Erase?

Next time, I'll pick a book with a more inspiring cover on it.

Next time, I’ll pick a book with a more inspiring cover on it.

I’m a nostalgic girl. My parents always teased me that I was born 100 years too late. Before I got married, my grandmother used to complain that I dressed like an old school marm. I made my own wedding dress because I wanted a renaissance style wedding and didn’t have $1000+ to blow.

So um, yeah, I’m a scratcher.

If I could have found the supplies when I had more time on my hands, I might have tried writing with a quill and inkwell. Picture me, scribbling away like Louisa May Alcott…

Well, my two busy little boys popped that bubble. 😉

This issue is why NaNoWriMo terrifies me. I can’t seem to do my initial creation without a pen and paper. Therefore, I’m a significantly slower writer. I’ve participated in writing sprints with fellow authors. At the end, everyone posts their word count; 1432, 1625, 2164, 871 (but that person was interrupted because they had to referee their kids). I have one full hour of uninterrupted quiet time and I usually average (drumroll please) a whopping 600 words.

So yeah, November’s going to be a busy month for me.

To be honest, I get really itchy for pen and paper if I’ve gone too long without writing. When I worked for Verizon, I actually used to yearn to do research papers again like I had in college. I think the atmosphere of creative void is what finally pulled Harp Lessons out of me. But since I obviously couldn’t use my work computer to compose it, I ended up writing most of it by hand during my breaks.

I seem to recall trying to type some of the first draft, but I don’t really remember if I was successful.

There’s something about the fluid movement of the pen on the paper lulling me into the story the way the waves of the ocean lulls a seaman to sea. I become connected to the plot in a way that makes it seem more real than if I stared at a glowing screen.

[This post was written as a part of the NaNoWriMo Pre-game Kick Off over at Jessica Schmeidler’s blog.]

NaNo word count: 3,806

5 Comments

Filed under Blogging Contest, NaNoWriMo, Writing

5 responses to “#4 Tickety-Type, Scratch, or Erase?

  1. Shea, my average typing speed (sans most typos) is 103wpm, but when I’m writing fiction, I write slower. You seem like a mind-editor to me, so where some people might pound out 1600 words to your 600, your 600 are most likely all keepers. 🙂

  2. I love handwritten letters, too. Something about the scrawl across the page makes it feel truly personal.

    • I agree! Did you grow up in a pre-texting generation too? I still don’t like to text. I’ll do it for a quick question or something, but I always feel like I’m talking to a computer.

      • I am a pre electronic girlie.
        However, I have embraced the textology era – much to the chagrin of my children.
        Though I get the feeling the grandkids will love it, when they get old enough to – can’t wait nearing preteenism with a grandkid!

Leave a Reply

