#6 Things You Wish You Knew (Or Had Known) About Blogging

I’d get a lot more writing done my nose wiggle did the chores. Image via Wikimedia Commons.

#1 I wish I had known that hubby would think that just because I talk about my post, then suddenly blogging is all I did. All. Day.

If I had the chance to work on my blog all day long, I wouldn’t be up until 10 pm Sunday night still trying to figure out what to write for Monday. Because apparently, I’m Samantha Stevens and all I’ve got to do is give my nose a wiggle to get the household chores done with boys underfoot.

#2 I wish I had known that on the day I post something I’d be checking my stats and email more frequently than an old lady pumping quarters into a slot machine.

Seriously! Oh, it’s time to get the kids out of the house to take William to school? Okay, let me just refresh my stats one more time because it’s been 15 seconds. I just got to see if 300 people decided to read my blog since then.

#3 I wish I had known that sometimes the responses I get on a post are as unpredictable as Charlie sleeping at nap time.

I’ll write a post and put my whole heart into it. I’ll even ask friends to critique it for me, because I want to get it “just right.” But the response on the day of the post falls a bit flat. Then, I’ll write-up something that’s just another post. It’s still meaningful to me, but doesn’t hit me like the other did. BOOM! I’ll get three time’s more views and comments than my “little darling.”

#4 I wish I had known that sometimes coming up with a topic to write on is just like writing a scene where you’re not entirely sure what’s going to happen.

Honestly, sometimes I just start writing, and I surprise myself with what comes out. But writing in general is that way. It’s harder to trust when blogging, but so much fun when writing fiction. So now I know, “Just write it!” 😀

[This post was written as a part of the NaNoWriMo Pre-game Kick Off over at Jessica Schmeidler’s blog.]

NaNo word count: 5039

5 Comments

Filed under Blogging Contest, NaNoWriMo, Writing

5 responses to “#6 Things You Wish You Knew (Or Had Known) About Blogging

  1. I really love your take on these posts! 🙂 When you figure out that trick for cleaning, make sure you shoot me an email. Hehe

    • Thanks Jessica! 😀 If I figure out that trick, I’ll be charging money for that baby. But, of course, for those select few (you included) complimentary benefits! 😉

      • No. No. You figure that trick out and I’ll be more than happy to pay! LOL! The only thing that seems to work for me is having my little busy body help me with “the CLE-EE-NING game.”

  2. I can so relate to every single one. Especially the one about your “darlings” falling flat while your “just another post” takes off. It’s amazing what hits and what doesn’t sometimes.

    • Lol, Erica! My Hobbit vs. Beowulf post still gets several views a day. One of these days I hope to write a post about my own stuff that has that effect. Oooh, there I go off in lala land again. 😉

Leave a Reply

