#9 NaNoWriMo for You in the Past has Meant…

“Wha?”

Yup. That was my reaction last year when I heard that people try to write their book within a month. I was putting the finishing touches on Harp Lessons and settling into a new house last November, so that kind of intense writing, wasn’t in my scope. Besides, I was in the middle of The Stone of Kings. My characters took a vote and it was unanimous:

I wasn’t allowed to abandon them to start something new. Even if it was only for a month.

It took the better part of three years to write the first draft of Harp Lessons (and to my credit, I had my first son somewhere in there), and about another year to decide to submit it anywhere. Not to mention the fact that I write long-hand. I figured I might try NaNoWriMo in a few years or so.

But the next year…

I’ve moved up in color rank in the karate of writing and am ready for the intimidating breaking-boards-with-my-head NaNoWriMo contest. I’m out of excuses. My skills are better, my rambunctious one is in school most of the day, and the little one still naps (more or less). I finished my last manuscript and haven’t yet started the next. And I always have the Y if I need it.

Oh, the wonderful YMCA. If you’re a writer with kids and your Y has child care, I highly recommend it. Two hours in the morning, two hours in the afternoon to do nothing but write. Hmm, well, I would feel weird using it that much, but I may just do that in November. But I’ll have to make it very clear to the Silver Sneakers crowd, that I’ll be WORKING for the month. (I have a weakness for chatting with senior citizens. 🙂 )

I love the idea that what once seemed a bit of a pipe dream is something I’m ready to tackle!

[This post was written as a part of the NaNoWriMo Pre-game Kick Off over at Jessica Schmeidler’s blog.]

NaNo word count: 8,031. Still tackling though! 😉

2 Comments

Filed under Blogging Contest, NaNoWriMo, Writing

2 responses to “#9 NaNoWriMo for You in the Past has Meant…

  1. Your post has just inspired me to keep going, I was within a whisker of pulling out because my story is just not ‘jelling’.
    Now I’ll keep going. But as I told myself when I was thinking of walking away, I’ve already done one 50k word in a month in August.
    Best wishes with your project.

    • Yay! You can do it Sherry! Just remember, you can’t edit what you don’t write. 😉

      As much as I’ll miss the family members who have been here, for Grannie’s funeral, I expect to get lots more writing done starting next week.

Leave a Reply

