#12 What Makes Writing Really “Worth It” to You?

It’s aliiiive!!! Image via Wikimedia Commons.

Yes, I’m going to go all cliché and say that I’m pleased as punch if I touch just one person with my writing. Of course I want all my readers to appreciate my words, but I know that’s not going to happen.

When I wrote Harp Lessons, my target audience was my family. It truly doesn’t matter to me if no one else likes it (though I hope they do), because I didn’t write it for them. The Stone of Kings is a different matter.

I wrote TSOK because it’s the kind of book I would like to read. So, kind of like HL, what made writing worth it was creating the story and making it better than the last one. Um, but yeah, I’d probably be a bit bummed if not as many folks go for it as I think will.

I’d be tickled pink if just one reader reviews and really “gets” the message I’m trying to convey in TSOK. But, like many other writers I’m sure, I have dreams of selling a million copies…talking over movie deals…being interviewed on what inspired me…

*blinks* Oh, um, where was I?

*clears throat* But what’s really worth writing the story is that it’s better than a hyped up role-playing game. I love how the characters that I’ve created start to do their own things and change the story in ways that I had not anticipated. I’m still in charge of the story, but like Frankenstein’s monster, my characters tend to have other ideas.

I cross my arms and lift a confused eyebrow at my character. “But Hannah, I thought you were going to cower from the gunman and let Thomas handle it.”

Hannah puts her hands on her hips and glares at me. “Don’t be daft! I’m stronger than that. You should know, you made me.”

I roll my eyes, and try not to smile because I know full well she enhanced the tension. “Alright, fine. Have it your way.”

[This post was written as a part of the NaNoWriMo Pre-game Kick Off over at Jessica Schmeidler’s blog.]

NaNo word count: 9,649. Not quite what I wanted, but better.

2 Comments

Filed under Blogging Contest, NaNoWriMo, Writing

2 responses to “#12 What Makes Writing Really “Worth It” to You?

  1. I agree. I know that not everyone is going to “get” what I write, and I’m fine with that, because really I’m writing for people who have lived things similar to what I’ve lived and want to hear how other people have made sense of it. I’m trying to craft a story that other people will want to appropriate for themselves, that they’ll read and say, “Yes! That’s exactly the way it is!” But I know from the get-go that not everyone has experiences close enough to mine to make that sense of deep recognition possible. I’m writing for the few who do.

Leave a Reply

