#18 NaMoWriMo Goals

Survive the month.

Okay, okay. That’s too general. Hmm, goal #1, write 1,667 words a day to hit 50,000. For me, writing longhand, that means about three hours of writing a day. Scratch that. Make it four to five hours, because there are going to be days that I can’t write, particularly around Thanksgiving.

Four to five doesn’t sound too bad. If I can do that as much as possible, I can have more than Thanksgiving off. Maybe I’ll even finish early!

*slaps face* Don’t get ahead of yourself.

Okay so goal #2. I really want to do what this contest was designed for. I want to turn off my inner editor and let the story come out the way my subconscious wants it to be told.

Goal #3 is to plan a little better. I’m a total pantser, and that’s probably why my inner editor screams at me all the time and slows me down. I have nightmares…okay, well, daymares of getting stuck in November because I haven’t researched the aspect of the Civil War that my plot takes me if I don’t plan it out well enough. Then my eyes will be bugging out on Wikipedia for hours trying to come up a historical fix for the predicament that I put my characters in.

Researching instead of writing… I can’t imagine that’s a good thing for November.

Finally, goal #4 is to prove to myself that writing a book in a month can be done. I mean, I know it can be done, there are thousands of winners who prove that. One of my author friends from Astraea Press, who has participated in NaNoWriMo several times, is attempting 50,000 x 2 this year! But I need to know that I can do it. If I can, When I do, I’d like to write that way whenever a book idea hits me. That way I can just get to the end already. I never know yet how my books end. It’s like having read through 4 different books and never having finished them. Then you spend your hours wondering how they end.

[This post was written as a part of the NaNoWriMo Pre-game Kick Off over at Jessica Schmeidler’s blog.]

NaNo word count: hahaha! How ironic that this post goes up today! I couldn’t put off laundry and other chores any longer, and since I was catching up on chores I decided to catch up on sleep and go to bed “early.” Word count’s the same. Am going to a write-in tonight though! I may not get to goal, but I’m not giving up! 😀

1 Comment

Filed under Blogging Contest, NaNoWriMo, Writing

One response to “#18 NaMoWriMo Goals

  1. Pingback: NaNOWriMo Day #18 | MARSHA L. RANDOLPH

Leave a Reply

