#19 Your Greatest Fan

Ick, sometimes I feel as if I’m my own greatest fan. Which is about as sad and silly as I’m My Own Grandpa.

I’d love it if my hubby were my greatest fan, but when he reads, it’s always non-fiction. I don’t think that harps and romance or faeries and druids will appeal to him. 😉 So, unless I sell a million copies of my books, my writing will look like just a hobby to him.

Having a hobby doesn’t really draw fans.

I suppose my greatest fan depends on which book you’re talking about. So far. For either one, my fans are my mom and step-mom (whom I also call Mom, just to add lovely confusion 😉 ).

My birth-mom has the same taste in reading as I do. She and I enjoy discussing the finer points of The Lord of the Rings and Harry Potter series. She liked Harp Lessons, but has been really enjoying being my beta reader for The Stone of Kings. When I wasn’t quite sure where I wanted to go with TSOK, we had wonderful brainstorming sessions. That always got the story moving again.

My step-mom is more of a visual artist, but has provided most of the inspiration for both my finished books. She has encouraged my writing throughout my childhood, got me started playing harp, and took me on my first trip to New York City, where she grew up. She and her mom, my Grandma Caroline, told me endless stories of Ireland and what it was like to live there. If you’ve read Harp Lessons, do these things sound familiar? Naturally, Mom has been tickled pink that I’m now a published author.

I know there are those outside of my family who have loved Harp Lessons. But I can’t imagine having many “fans” since I’ve only got one book out there so far. I’m quite happy to have my mothers as my greatest fans. But it’ll be nice to start getting multiple five-star reviews that my fellow author friends (who have great backlists) have.

[This post was written as a part of the NaNoWriMo Pre-game Kick Off over at Jessica Schmeidler’s blog.]

NaNo word count: 17,462

3 Comments

Filed under Blogging Contest, Harp, NaNoWriMo

3 responses to “#19 Your Greatest Fan

  1. jeff7salter

    It must be very difficult for the non-writing spouse of a writer to get engaged and stay engaged in our writing efforts. For years, I would hear this complaint: “every time I try to read the story you asked me to read, you’ve swapped out the pages.” To which my answer was (typically): “if you’d read it during the first week I gave it to you, maybe I’d still be on that same draft.” LOL
    I finally realized that my spouse could not get motivated to read a WIP … but she has been very helpful in proofing what is basically the final draft.
    All that said, even tho she has usually not read any (or much) of any particular story, she is often very helpful when I get snagged on some detail or need a suggested plot development to make something work.

    • lol Jeff, I hadn’t been able to get my hubby to read any of my work. Though he has been making an effort to read The Stone of Kings. But I can tell he’s just not that into it. But he’s not into reading Harry Potter, The Lord of the Rings, or even The Hunger Games either.

      He’s been surprisingly helpful with my NaNo project though, even if he hasn’t read any of it. He loves Civil War history, so I’ve been able to bounce a few plot ideas off of him. 🙂

      • jeff7salter

        Despite not being much of the speedy beta reader I need, my wife has turned into a very good promoter & salesperson for my published works. Just two weeks ago, she attended one of my presentations and handled the sales table for me.

Leave a Reply

