#22 What Does “Off-Day” Mean to You?

Ha! Well, I guess it could be worse. At least I don’t smoke, drink and have insufficient light. Image attributed to Ralf Roletschek via Wikimedia Commons.

Usually an “off-day” lasts a month and is caused by gluten. But that’s a given.

Other than that, “off-day” means Charlie doesn’t nap, yells through “quiet time,” and going to the Y is interrupted by too many of the silver sneakers crowd or a poopy diaper. Fortunately, these “off-days” don’t happen too often. But the implications from them are far greater.

When I can’t get writing in when I was planning to, quiet Jeckyll Mommy is in danger of becoming Hyde Mommy. Writing is my potion to keep Hyde Mommy at bay and sometimes that evil Hyde Mommy comes out unbidden because I wasn’t able to get the scenes in my head out onto my paper. When that happens, I’m reduced to trying to squeeze in words and ideas amid my boys playing in the livingroom. Every ten minutes or less, I’m interrupted because someone took someone else’s toy, or the other won’t stop tickling. I tend to enjoy dual timeouts because it gives me at least three minutes of uninterrupted thoughts (unless Charlie starts kicking the wall during his timeout). I do my best to be The Orange Rhino, and not yell at my boys, but on those “off-days” it’s super difficult. I’m also stricken with guilt that I’m busy trying to write instead of playing with them. Then there’s laundry to do, floors to be swept, toys that need tidying, and a gluten-free dinner to prepare (and hope William actually eats some of it).

By the time the boys are in bed, you’d think I’d use the blissful quiet to finally write the way I want to.

Tee hee. You’re funny.

I’m so exhausted from trying to write all day, that when I can finally do it, I end up vegging out on the couch until I’m ready to go to sleep instead.

[This post was written as a part of the NaNoWriMo Pre-game Kick Off over at Jessica Schmeidler’s blog.]

NaNo word count: 20,083. Unfortunately, now that I’ve got a serious project going, I’ve had more off-days than usual. Murphy’s Law.

2 Comments

Filed under Blogging Contest, NaNoWriMo, Writing

2 responses to “#22 What Does “Off-Day” Mean to You?

  1. shea–been doing the gluten free thing for over a decade. let me know if you ever need any help. rr smythe

    • Thanks Ronna 😀 I’ve got a pretty good handle on it for now. The biggest challenge is living in a house with my gluten eating family. It’s how I end up accidentally eating a gluten crumb from time to time. lol I’ve been doing well lately, no accidents for about 4 months. 🙂

Leave a Reply

