#23 Children, Munchkins, or Little Monsters?

Image via Wikimedia Commons.

This depends on the moment (or if there is a full moon).

The Moments That They are Children

They are doing their chores or homework properly. I love when I’m working on reading with William and I can see how rapidly he’s improving. I remember how hard it was when he knew the sounds of each letter, but lost them when it came to using them in words. I love it how I can tell him with complete frankness how proud I am of how well he’s doing. Then he smiles and gives me a big hug and absolutely makes my day.

When they play together nicely and politely, it melts my heart. I also have to remember these particular moments and savor them because they are few and far between.

The Moments That They are Munchkins

I am swept into their world like Dorothy in the tornado. I find out that fymaries exist and are helicopters that turn into houses when it sees a bad guy. All yellow vehicles are related (i.e. cousin, grandma, sister, etc.) to the Transformer, Bumblebee. I’m required to get up and do magic moves every time Tree Fu Tom come on so that we can send him big world magic and help him to save his friends from whatever predicament they are in.

The Moments That They are Little Monsters

They usually transform during the full moon, but can switch from Children or Munchkin mode at a moment’s notice on any day. Seriously. They even howl. These are the times when time outs are used several times a day, I’m almost certain not to get any writing or research done, and I’m counting down the minutes to bedtime. I’ve also determined that the Little Monster mode comes with a time altering field that radiates from my boy’s bodies because the clocks in our house always seem to move slower during these moments.

[This post was written as a part of the NaNoWriMo Pre-game Kick Off over at Jessica Schmeidler’s blog.]

NaNo word count: 20,850

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogging Contest, NaNoWriMo

Leave a Reply

