#24 Chickens

“No one’s gettin’ in my way!”

Hetty gazed at the horizon, a worried look in her eyes. “What if the government shuts down again?”

Chickie rolled her eyes and asked, “What are you talking about now, Hetty?”

“Well, what if I want to go visit the Smoky Mountains or see Old Faithful? Suppose I’d already planned my trip, paid for the airfare, but then they shutdown everything again? What a waste.”

“Um, Hetty, you’re a chicken.”

Hetty fluffed her feathers and flapped her wings determinedly. “You know what? You’re right. I shouldn’t be afraid. I should just do it. I can’t plan for every contingency, right?”

“No, Hetty, seriously. You’re a chicken.”

“Well, I know I’m not the boldest hen in the coop, but I’ve a right to live life to the fullest. Am I right? I shouldn’t let my fear of what the government does get in the way.”

Chickie sighed then strutted in front of Hetty’s face. “Hetty. Look at me. You. Are. A. Chicken.”

“Well, come on. I mean, look at buk, buk, Becky. She wouldn’t even have the courage to plan a trip like that even if we were in a bull market.” She gazed off at the horizon again.

“Hetty, you are an egg laying, yard scratching, ever clucking CHICKEN!”

“Hmm, I wonder if Buford Bull would be willing to take the trip with me. I could use the extra protection.”

“How are you even going to get out of the yard, let alone across the country. We’re fenced in, and we can’t fly.”

Hetty stared at Chickie for a moment, then shook her head and said, “Yeah, I don’t think that Buford can fit in an airline seat either. I wonder if he has a car.”

“Hetty, why don’t you just set here on your nice soft nest, lay a couple of eggs, and think about something else for a bit, huh?”

“Hmm, yeah, you know, thinking is good. I’m thinking, I don’t need Buford’s protection or car. I gotta do this on my own. I’ll start by crossing that road.” Hetty wandered off in the direction of the highway.

“You do that. I’m going to go roost for a while.”

“Chickie, how do I get out of this pen? Chickie?”

[This post was written as a part of the NaNoWriMo Pre-game Kick Off over at Jessica Schmeidler’s blog.]

NaNo word count: 21,480. My new goal, by the way, is to finish the book by the end of the year. 🙂 Even though I won’t ‘win,’ one thing NaNo’s taught me is that it shouldn’t take me a year to write a book, even long-handed.

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogging Contest, NaNoWriMo

Leave a Reply

