#25 The State of the Union

Image via Wikimedia Commons

*sigh* I really hate politics.

Nevertheless, I still have a plan to write a dystopia inspired by the soybean farmers from Food Inc., the legalization of marijuana in some states, and a documentary I once watched on the amount of meth-heads in our country’s prisons.

Having been a teacher, even for as brief a time as it was, I kind of have the idea that our classrooms are a sort of microcosm, for the state of our country. A lot of what I saw was that most many of the parents expect the teacher to raise their children for them. I had some students who had conscientious parents, and typically, those were the students who did well.

It begins at home people!

Okay, okay, I promise I won’t get on a soapbox about education.

I hope the shutdown helps to wake up Americans. I really think we all need a good strong dose of Dave Ramsey. We need to start living at or below our means instead of way beyond them. We are a government by the people. The fact that our country is in a horrible state of debt reflects who we are as individuals. We have forgotten how to wait. We have forgotten how to appreciate what we have.

Do you see me speaking to myself here too?

If I ever start acting entitled, please do me a favor and pull me away, violently if necessary, from that precipice. The last thing I want is to raise entitled children because our country has too much of that now. It is my experience that entitled people don’t compromise well. How can we thrive as a country if we can’t compromise?

Maybe I was supposed to be more specific with this topic. I’ve given up watching much news because one channel feeds me stuff from “The Left” while another channel gives me stuff from “The Right.” Which is the channel that simply gives me ALL the FACTS and lets me think for myself? So yeah, that’s why I didn’t talk about Obamacare. TOO confused to take any kind of stance on that one.

[This post was written as a part of the NaNoWriMo Pre-game Kick Off over at Jessica Schmeidler’s blog.]

NaNo word count: 23,218

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogging Contest, NaNoWriMo

Leave a Reply

