#29 Thoughts On Completing This Contest?

I feel like this contest was my NaNo warm-up. At first, I cranked out the posts and I was way ahead of schedule. But I wasn’t done when I went on vacation. No matter. I could get a few done during the trip, and at the rate I was going, I could easily finish when we got back.

Then Grannie died rather suddenly.

Along with the torrent of emotions and distraction of family, some of whom I hadn’t seen in over 10 years, I confess I didn’t get any posts written.

Boom!

I lost my “lead” and began to feel like a procrastinating school kid who doesn’t finish their essay till the night before it’s due. As it is, while I write this, it is October 30th, I’ve got the last topic to write plus the “Day in the Life” post which I sort of skipped because for me, it required a bit of background reading. I’ve finished the research on that one, but still need to write it out.

To my credit, we also had computer issues too these last few days. I’ve had to write out most of my final posts from my tablet, hunt and peck style. Ugh. But now, two days before the posts are due, we finally got the computer reimaged so I can add my links and pictures (and type normally).

But you know what? I’m glad I had stresses and distractions that kept me from finishing early (obviously, I really could have done without the sudden loss of a loved one). But I should get done on time, and the stress has boosted my confidence that I can do this NaNo thing.

So thank you Jessica! Whether or not you choose me as the winner, I’ve already “won.” And look at that! Another post finished and two left to go! 😀

[This post was written as a part of the NaNoWriMo Pre-game Kick Off over at Jessica Schmeidler’s blog.]

NaNo word count: 25,289. We ended up needing a new computer anyway, so I did something I never do. I waited for 2 hours last night at Office Depot for the pre-Black Friday sale. Got a great deal, but I don’t want to do it again. lol

3 Comments

Filed under Blogging Contest, NaNoWriMo, Writing

3 responses to “#29 Thoughts On Completing This Contest?

  1. I’m glad you found the challenge so helpful, and YOU ARE MY WINNER! I’ve loved reading your blog posts, and I especially liked the fact that you went a little above and beyond and added a picture to every single one. Your writing is superb, and I’m already ridiculously interested in your Civil War story! So, as soon as you finish up that word count (unless you’re going for a mini-novella), let me know. 🙂

    Congratulations, and thank you for participating.

    • Oh, how awesome! Thank you so much Jessica! 😀 I’m glad you enjoyed my blog posts and I’m anxious to finish my story so you can read it. 😀 So you’re okay waiting another month for it then? My goal is to finish it by the end of the year. 🙂

      Thanks so much for hosting your contest! 😀

Leave a Reply

