Friday Fun! Surviving Summer via Miracles and the YMCA

Cool CharlieYeah, I missed Wednesday again. *Sigh.* With the exception of popping Tylenol for this weird constant headache, I think I’m on the mend. 🙂 At least I’m not glutened.

Wednesday was the first day of Summer break. I remember last autumn, watching William’s small body walking himself out of the car line to his Kindergarten class for the first time. I remember thinking, “I can’t believe he’s going to be gone for most of the day till the summer!”

Now I’m thinking, “I can’t believe he’s going to be home all summer! How am I going to keep him busy?!”

We got a new above ground pool because Charlie popped a hole in the inflatable ring of the last one when he kept letting the water drain from the side to make mud puddles. But will they swim in it?

Funny question.

Apparently, neither of the boys know the meaning of “refreshing.” They complain that the water is too cold even after it’s been heated by the Florida sun all day. O_0

So Wednesday, I spent most of my day inside in the A/C while the boys fought over a toy of some kind. Did I mention that my head was about to explode at any moment? Yeah. This didn’t bode well for surviving my least favorite season of the year.

Maybe it was inspired by Charlie wearing water wings on his ankles because he wanted to walk on water – when it was warm enough. But we got a miracle in the mailbox Wednesday afternoon.

We’ve been trying to save money for moving to Georgia by the end of the summer, so we let our membership at the YMCA expire last January. It was fine when it was just Charlie and me all day.

Wednesday, I was seriously toying with the notion of summer camp for William, thereby spending any money we’d saved. But then the Y sent us a letter telling us how much they missed us. AND they were going to waive the join fee if we came back!

Cue the burst of breeze, bright light, and choir singing, “Ahhhh!”

Yes, I know it was an ad. But I missed going to the Y so much, just for a place to take the boys and have an occasional break when I needed it. The folks at the Y totally spoke to me when they sent that letter.

So we’re back at the Y. It’s cheaper than summer camp, and not something we’re obligated to bring William to. It gives me a nice break when I need it, and the relief is like a cool swim after working in the sun all day.

Hmm, I wonder if I can insist they make the boys play outside so they’ll swim when we get home?

Do your kids throw you curveballs? Are they weirdly picky? Do they walk on water? Please share!

7 Comments

Filed under Friday Fun

7 responses to “Friday Fun! Surviving Summer via Miracles and the YMCA

  1. When my kiddies (now 16 and 13) were much younger – I discovered the Dunkin Donuts Drive-thru! I closed my eyes often to remind myself this was a short point in time and sure enough I blinked and my daughter got her driver’s permit and my son grew facial hair. 🙂 Little ones are most definitely a challenge to even the best and bravest! 🙂
    For me, what it really came down to was letting go of my previous regimens and adopting a new one beginning with letter A – and when A stopped working adopting another until I found I’d reached the end of the alphabet only to begin again 😉
    AnnMarie
    Have a wonderful weekend 🙂

    • Yes, remembering that these years fly can be as challenging as living through them. Even though I may like change, I struggle with it sometimes especially if it means adopting a new regimen. lol All to soon, my boys will be growing facial hair like yours and I need to remember to appreciate their quirks now before they grow out of them. 😀 Thanks!

      • You’re most certainly welcome. When I think back, I do remember my hair seeming thinner as I was constantly pulling it out 😉
        AnnMarie
        You are a caring mother and I have no doubt your boys will grow up to be devoted sons 🙂

      • lol, Did you cut yours short because of the thinning too? And to think, Rapunzel was always my favorite fairy tale because I always wanted super long hair… 😉

      • I usually have very long hair – though I know old gals look better with shorter hair so they say – I’ve actually donated my hair a few times. The last one was about a year and 1/2 ago.
        If I didn’t give it away – I would have pulled it all out 😉
        AnnMarie 🙂

  2. Sasha

    Haha, mine our chicken of the cold pool as well! Well, the ones up here really are still cold, freezing in fact, so I am happy for their fear! 🙂 We also love the YMCA; such a great family place!

    • lol! I finally got them in at about 2:30 this afternoon, but I had to put the canopy cover back over it before Charlie would get in because it was too sunny. I can’t wait to live someplace where it actually snows. 😉 I’ve had the Shel Silverstein poem about Dirty Dan running through my head all day…

      The Y is wonderful. I don’t think I’d keep my sanity by the end of the summer without it! 😀

Leave a Reply

