Friday Fun! Tales of a Space Cadet

sleep study blog

Charlie doesn’t sleep well. We’re in the process of an investigative sleep study to find out why his brain isn’t telling him to breathe properly when he sleeps. Needless to say, he doesn’t usually get a good night’s sleep, resulting in some rather humorous behavior. There are obviously many negatives to this, but let’s not go there today.

Dictionary.com defines a space cadet as “a person who appears to be in his or her own world or out of touch with reality.” Urban Dictionary says this kind of person is “easily lost in reverie” and “does not respond when directly spoken to.” Here’s how Charlie measures up.

In His Own World

I did the ice bucket challenge and had my boys dump the ice water on me – to William’s everlasting enjoyment. I still can’t figure out what Charlie was thinking when I was about to say “GO!” William was poised and ready with his bucket, but Charlie picked his up and started to wander off with it. You would think that the chance to dump ice water on Mommy would grab his attention.

Out of Touch With Reality

Charlie doesn’t seem to possess a concept of time. Yesterday when I picked him up from preschool (a seven minute drive from our house), we hadn’t yet left the parking lot when he asked that quintessential phrase of kid-dom, “Are we there yet?”

Sorry kid, my teleporter is in the shop.

Easily Lost in a Reverie

Charlie will listen to a skip in a CD for a good five minutes – at least. Sometimes my car’s CD player will finally clear it, and then he’ll ask for me to make it do it again. What is going through that funny head of his when all hears is “prac-prac-prac-prac…?” If William is in the car, he humors his brother for a while but eventually asks me to go past the skip.

Does Not Respond When Directly Spoken To

I think any kid has trouble with this. But an example of our usual scenario is:

Charlie plays with the refrigerator magnets. Daddy says, “Charlie we’re going to the toy store!” Charlie still plays with the magnets. “Charlie get your shoes!” Charlie continues playing. “Charlie, we’re going to the toy store!” Charlie continues playing. Daddy moves the magnets out of reach. “Charlie, we’re going to the toy store!”

Charlie finally says, “Oh! I LOVE the toy store!”

I’d love to hear from you!

Do you have a kid who’s a space cadet? Does he or she fit the definition? Or do they create a new definition of the word? What funny things do you do when you don’t get enough sleep?

4 Comments

Filed under Friday Fun

4 responses to “Friday Fun! Tales of a Space Cadet

  1. I worked with a child who had moderate Autism and he would do very similar things. For example, one day we took a walk and picked up a leaf and started to wander away with the leaf and then ran back to me and continued to shout, “we’ll take it home!” As if he made a glorious and rare discovery. 🙂 He did not have a sleep disorder like your son, but what goes through his mind must be a very exciting adventure! I hope the sleep study goes well so he can eventually come back down to earth from his space adventure. 🙂 best of luck to you!

    • Thank you, Summer! I hope so too. Sometimes I feel as though I’m on the adventure with him, and other times, well, I’m looking at it through a strange kaleidoscope. Whatever the case, I love his imagination, but hope the sleep study sheds light on his attention problems. 🙂

  2. Lee Japak

    Sweetheart we so need to talk more often!! You’ll be surprised what you’ll find out!! Call me sometime!!

Leave a Reply

