Friday Fun – Neurosurgery

Fortunately, Mickey didn't need to go under the knife.

Fortunately, Mickey didn’t need to go under the knife.

Since Charlie’s diagnosis of Type 1 Chiari Malformation is what prompted my overlong blogcation, I thought it only fitting that I start up again on Friday Fun. 🙂

His surgery was on December 10th and I still can’t get over how well he did! He is back to being the same old Charlie, except that he sleeps soooo much better. No more sleep apnea, no more thrashing, no more waking at all hours of the night. Well, he still comes downstairs and crawls into bed with us sometimes, but at least he goes back to sleep. 😉

We were very blessed living so close to All Children’s Hospital in St. Petersburg. It was a fabulous experience, given the circumstances. The staff did a fantastic job catering the minds and spirit of children. We even got a surprise visitors!

Charlie thought it was pretty cool that they posed for me. :D

Charlie thought it was pretty cool that they posed for me…instead of wrapping me in webbing.

But since they happened to stop by the evening of Charlie’s procedure, this is what Charlie saw:

The backs of his eyelids were more appealing than Spiderman at the time.

The backs of his eyelids were more appealing than Spiderman at the time.

The superheros were nice enough to leave Charlie a present before they left. He was pretty stoked about it. 😀

How can you celebrate Christmas without an Avengers Santa hat?

How can you celebrate Christmas without an Avengers Santa hat?

Charlie recovered remarkably fast for decompression surgery, though for a while he did lots of this:

Things to do today: play - rest - play- rest.

Things to do today: play – rest – play – rest.

After a mere two weeks, the Neurosurgeon cleared Charlie for normal activities again! I was relieved because I was getting tired of reminding him that he couldn’t run or jump yet. 😉

I’m inexpressibly grateful that everything went so smoothly because I know that it might not have. My blogcation and the holds I put on the other areas of my life could have been much longer. But I’m not going to think about that. *shudder*

Now I’ve got my funny little clown back and we’re considering signing him up for drama classes. I’m having fun seeing what little performance he has planned for me everyday.

Have you ever had a scary experience go better than you could have ever hoped? If things went bad, did good come out of it anyway? Please share!

3 Comments

Filed under Friday Fun

3 responses to “Friday Fun – Neurosurgery

  1. Praise God for such a wonderful testimony!

    • Thank you so much Linda! 😀 We did lots of praying during the whole experience as did friends and family. There’s no doubt in my mind that that is what made our outcome so positive.

  2. Pingback: Graduations, Birthday Parties, and Broken Bones…Oh My! | Shea McIntosh Ford - Author

Leave a Reply

