Wednesday Welcomes – J.J. Nite!

Bruises Cover

I couldn’t ask for a more appropriate book and author for this week! In the hype of the horribly categorized 50 Shades movie coming out on Valentine’s day, I’m stoked to be able to present Bruises of the Heart on my blog just in time! Enjoy!


When Victoria’s long-time boyfriend breaks up with her she’s convinced that she will never be happy again. But after meeting the new student, Will Prescott, things start to look up. Victoria is happy again and even when a little voice tries to tell her that something isn’t quite right with her new relationship, she holds on even tighter. Before long even Victoria can’t deny that she needs to end her new relationship, but can she get out before something happens to change her forever? Or will she be lost?

Excerpt:

“You need to stop right where you are,” said Noah, stepping around me. “It’s obvious that she’s scared of you right now and I would love to know why. Then maybe I’d have an actual reason to beat the crap out of you.”

“Noah, stop. It’s okay.”

“No it isn’t,” he said, never taking his eyes from Will. “I’ve seen you change since you started seeing him, and not in a good way. I’ve already told you how I feel about the past, but this right now doesn’t feel right. You can’t honestly tell me that you feel safe.”

I just looked over Noah’s shoulder since he still hadn’t turned around to look at me. He was staring at Will.

For his part, Will had stopped when Noah had told him to. Now he was looking even angrier, though I couldn’t understand why. Then he took a few steps forward and my heart seized.

Noah mirrored his steps. I threw my arms around him to keep him from going any farther, while looking over his shoulder to gauge Will’s reaction. Noah put his hands on mine and took two steps back. I expected him to pry my hands away, which he could have done easily, but he didn’t.

“What, you’re going to let a girl stop you?” Will taunted. “Are you afraid to actually see whether or not you could beat me up?”

I felt Noah tense and I squeezed him in response. He instantly relaxed again and squeezed my hands to reassure me.

I heard a door slam and then footsteps quickly approaching. I tentatively looked over my shoulder to see my mom running to where the three of us were standing. “Hey, what’s going on here? What are you two boys arguing about?” She shot me a look full of concern and confusion.

I let go of Noah, confident he wouldn’t do anything more with her here, but he continued to hold one of my hands. I was confused, but still too worried to think about it right then.

“There’s no problem here, Mrs. Williams. I was just asking a few questions,” Noah answered.

Through clenched teeth, Will said, “Yeah, we were just discussing something is all.”

“Should I conclude that ‘something’ was my daughter?”

Noah and Will only stared at each other, and the look I was receiving from Will should have ignited me on the spot. I felt guilty standing with Noah, but right then I didn’t really care. I felt safe, and I knew I wouldn’t feel that way if I were standing next to Will.

“I’ll take it from your silence that you were. I think that both of you boys need to get back in your vehicles and go home. Victoria, go get in the truck. And Noah, I’ll follow you back to Centerville,” she said.

“Victoria, I’ll be calling you later. We need to talk,” Will said before he slammed his car door and, with wheels screaming, whipped into a U-turn and headed back to his house.

“Does he drive like that when you’re in his car?” she asked in full mom mode.

I shook my head, unable to find my voice. Will’s parting promise had sounded more ominous to me than it probably had to anyone else. Noah put his arm around my shoulders and walked me to the truck.

“I hate to tell you this right now, but I think that we should talk, too. Call me when you’re ready to do that,” he said, and then he closed my door.


Buy Links:

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/bruises-of-the-heart-j-j-nite/1119712379

http://www.amazon.com/Bruises-Heart-J-J-Nite-ebook/dp/B00EV8LCUE

http://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/bruises-of-the-heart

Author Photo2J. Nite lives in North Alabama with her husband, 3 kids, 2 dogs, and 5 goldfish. She writes young adult sweet romance for Astraea Press and loves reading as much as possible. J.J.’s also found that if she doesn’t write something every day, her mood is that of a bear waking from hibernation. Don’t worry though, the children have learned to let Mommy write a little before approaching.

Social Media:

Twitter: @jjnite

Instagram: @jjniteauthor

Facebook: www.facebook.com/jjnite1

4 Comments

Filed under Guest Posts

4 responses to “Wednesday Welcomes – J.J. Nite!

  1. Thank you Shea for having me today!! I really appreciate it!

  2. jeff7salter

    enjoyed the excerpt.
    FIVE goldfish?

Leave a Reply

