Sometimes, Friday Is Not Fun

In light of the horrible massacre in Charleston this week, today’s post will not be my usual Friday Fun style. There are no words to express the sadness I feel over what took place in that church building. At the time of the shooting, I was doing the same thing as the victims. I was with my family, engaged in prayer and Bible study. Why should they have to die because their skin is a different shade than mine? They were people with as much right to happy life as me.

Someone said that haters like Dylann Roof are bent on bringing back “the good ol’ days” and not regarding how those days were not good for minorities and women. In what warped way can those days possibly be labeled “good?”

But this… this struck me worst of all:

Roof allegedly said, at the attack, that black people were “taking over our country. And [they] have to go.” These words echoed the sentiment that floored me when I was a teacher.

This attitude makes no sense to me. The white race wasn’t even here first! If people like that want to start shipping races back to their countries of origin, then they need to get on the boat too.

This is why I create characters like Ciaran. Please, learn from them.

The USA is country that is a tossed salad of cultures. If people like Roof and that former student of mine want a plate of plain lettuce, then they need to go somewhere else. I can’t imagine where ever they go to be very populated.

Personally, I prefer color and flavor in my salad.

My prayers are with the families and community affected by this senseless tragedy.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Sometimes, Friday Is Not Fun

  1. Do you know for a fact they were all black and it was a race related crime

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Jean

    Shea I agree with you completely! Unfortunately the ones spouting those hateful words and committing these dreadful acts have probably heard them in their home life. I put as much blame on the parents because they have not provided their young people with positive experiences!

    • Absolutely! That’s what I write what I do. Maybe a kid like Roof wouldn’t bother to pick up The Stone of Kings, but maybe someone like his uncle would (I understand his uncle has spoken completely against what his nephew did). And maybe someone like his uncle would encourage him to read it and change his perceptions. If that makes any sense.

Leave a Reply

